• +60189283444
football live streaming

Things To Know About 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualification

  • on Jan 27, 2023

The 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification is an ongoing process in which teams compete for the right to represent their nation in the 2022 FIFA World Cup. The tournament will be held in Qatar, and will mark the first time that the tournament has been hosted by an Arab country.

The Format

The format consists of two stages: The FIFA World Cup qualification round and final tournament (group stage). In the first stage there are two types of groups:

First Round

The first round of FIFA World Cup qualification consist of two-legged ties between teams from different continents, with the exception of Europe and South America, who will each play home-and-away fixtures against teams from other continents. In total, there will be 80 matches in the first round with up to five games taking place per day in a two-week period.

Second Round

There will be four groups, with each group consisting only of teams from from its corresponding continent (Asia, Africa, North America or South America) In the second round of FIFA World Cup qualification. There will be five separate squads competing inside each of the two groups. When the second round is complete, the top two teams from each group will go on to the final round.

Third Round

In this round of FIFA Word Cup qualification, the third placed teams from each of the nine groups will be drawn against the runners-up from another group. The winners of these matches will progress to the Fourth Round. If there is a tie between two or more teams after regulation time in any match, extra time (30 minutes) and penalties will be used to decide which team advances to the next round.

The Teams

The teams that have qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup are:

  • Argentina
  • Australia (Oceania)
  • Bahrain (Asia)
  • Belgium (Europe)
  • Brazil (South America)

The total number of players expected to participate in this tournament is 2,722. The breakdown by nationality and gender is as follows:

  • lMen – 1,426
  • lWomen – 1,296
  • lTotal – 2,722

The Teams That have Not Qualified

England (UEFA), Germany(UEFA), Spain(UEFA), France(UEFA), Italy(UEFA), Russia(UEFA) and Poland(CIS). All these teams failed to reach the knockout stages of their respective confederations’ qualification tours. It is also worth noting that some of them missed out on a place in Russia because they did not win their qualifying groups which means there will be no direct replacements for them at this stage.

The Teams Still In Contention To Qualify

Mexico who need just one point against Honduras on Wednesday night to book their place in Qatar; it will take place at 8pm GMT live; while Panama need only a draw against Trinidad & Tobago after beating USA 2-0 on Saturday night, with both matches taking place simultaneously at 6pm BST live.

The Bidding Process

The bidding procedure to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup was launched in January 2009, and national associations had until 10 March 2009 to register their interest. A total of two bids were submitted for the 2022 FIFA World Cup: one from England and a joint bid from Belgium / Netherlands. Qatar won the hosting rights over the United States, South Korea and Japan at the FIFA Congress in Zürich on 2 December 2020.

The Qualification Criteria

The FIFA World Cup qualification criteria are as follows:

  • 32 teams will be drawn into 8 groups of 4 teams. The top 2 teams in each group will qualify automatically for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.
  • The remaining 4 spots will be taken by the best 4 third-placed teams across all groups, who will compete for them in a single-game play-off match against one another on 16 November 2020 at Stadio Olimpico di Torino, Turin (Italy).
  • The FIFA World Cup is an international men’s football championship that takes place every four years and is competed for by the national teams of the member associations of FIFA. The 2022 tournament will be the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup. The event is slated to go down in Qatar between the dates of 21 November and 18 December 2022.
  • The championship round will include a total of 32 national teams, 31 of which will have been selected via various qualifying tournaments and 1 of which will have qualified automatically as the host country. Twenty of these 32 teams will fight against one another in the group round, while the remaining twelve will compete against one another in the play-off round (the new format introduced in 2018).

Qatar Is The First West Asian Country To

Qatar is the smallest nation to ever host the World Cup and the first country in the West Asian region to do so. The little Qatar Peninsula on the northeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula is home to the nation of Qatar in Western Asia. There will be a total of 32 national teams in the championship tournament: 31 teams that were decided through qualifying tournaments plus the host country.

The 32nd team will be decided through a playoff match between the fourth-placed team from the CONCACAF region and the winner of an AFC–UEFA play-off. The winners of each qualifying zone are placed in to a draw for two-legged play offs to decide who qualifies for both UEFA and CONMEBOL as well as CAF, ASIA/Oceania, CONCACAF, AMERICCA/NORCECA.

The Event Will Be Held In November

The 2022 World Cup will be the first to be held in November and December. The tournament is scheduled to take place between 21 November and 18 December 2022. It will be the first time that Qatar has hosted a major international football event, although it has hosted some matches during this summer’s Asian Games.


The teams who will compete in the 2022 FIFA World Cup will be decided by the results of the FIFA World Cup qualification procedure for that tournament, which will take place in 2022. A round of FIFA World Cup qualification contests will take place before the event, as they have done before each competition since since the field was increased to 32 teams in 1998.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *